CALL FOR PAPERS: ACML2012 (extended submission deadline 6 August, 2012)


The 4th Asian Conference on Machine Learning (ACML2012)

Singapore, November 4-6, 2012


Fresh new submissions that have not caught up with the early deadline are welcome for the final paper submission deadline!

Important dates:

* Final Paper Submission: 6 August, 2012

* Final Notification: 8 September, 2012
* Camera Ready: 24 September, 2012
* Conference: 4-6 November, 2012

The 4th Asian Conference on Machine Learning (ACML2012) will be held on November 4-6, 2012, at the Singapore Management University, Singapore. The conference aims at providing a leading international forum for researchers in machine learning and related fields to share their new ideas and achievements. Submissions from other than the Asia-Pacific regions are also highly encouraged.

The conference program consists of tutorials, workshops, invited keynote talks by distinguished researchers as well as single track sessions of research paper presentations. The invited keynote speakers for ACML 2012 are James Rehg (Georgia Tech), Dale Schuurmans (University of Alberta), and Bob Williamson (Australian National University and NICTA).

The proceedings will be published as a volume of Journal of Machine Learning Research (JMLR): Workshop and Conference Proceedings. Authors of selected papers will be invited to submit a significantly extended version of their paper to a post-conference special issue of the Machine Learning journal. The BEST STUDENT PAPER will receive an award sponsored by the Machine Learning journal.

This year ACML will have an innovative new feature: TWO submission deadlines. The late deadline has the usual ¡°accept¡± or ¡°reject¡± outcomes. In addition to the two outcomes, the early deadline also has “conditional accept subject to required revisions”, and ¡°resubmit¡± with notification in time for them to make the final deadline. The submission of “conditional accept” decision is strongly encouraged to carefully address the review comments in their revision. The revision without addressing the review comments properly might be rejected. The submission of “resubmit” decision must be significantly improved and revised before it can be re-submitted in the late deadline. Fresh submissions that have not caught up with the early deadline are also welcome for the late deadline.

ACML2012 calls for papers that report high quality original research results on machine learning and related fields. The topics include but are not limited to the following:

1. Learning problems

* Active learning
* Cost-sensitive Learning
* Ensemble methods
* Feature selection/extraction/construction
* Incremental learning and on-line learning
* Learning in graphs and networks
* Multi-agent learning
* Multi-instance learning
* Reinforcement learning
* Semi-supervised learning
* Supervised learning
* Classification, regression, ranking, structured, logical
* Transfer and multi-task learning
* Unsupervised learning
* Clustering, deep learning, latent variable models
* Other learning problems

2. Analysis of learning systems

* Computational learning theory
* Experimental evaluation methodology
* Others

3. Applications

* Bioinformatics
* Collaborative filtering
* Computer vision
* Information retrieval
* Mobile and pervasive computing
* Natural language processing
* Social networks
* Web search
* Other applications

4. Learning in knowledge-intensive systems

* Knowledge refinement and theory revision
* Multi-strategy learning
* Other systems

5. Other learning problems

Abstract and Paper Submission:
Electronic abstract and paper should be submitted through the ACML 2012 submission site:

Papers should be written in English and formatted according to the JMLR Workshop and Conference Proceedings format ( The maximum length of papers is 16 pages in this format. Overlength submissions or submissions without appropriate format will be rejected without review. Paper submissions should ensure double-blind reviews. Please be sure to remove any information from your submission that can identify the authors, including author names, affiliations, self citations and any acknowledgments.

Proceedings will be published as a volume of JMLR: Workshop and Conference Proceedings (this is not equivalent to a regular issue of JMLR) at

Papers submitted to this conference must not have been published, accepted for publication or be under review for another conference or journal.
Novelty is an important criterion in the selection of papers.

To encourage interdisciplinary contributions, ACML will welcome papers that address applications of machine learning in other areas.
For these application papers, the novelty will be judged based on the applications of machine learning methods. These papers will be evaluated differently for the algorithmic papers. Authors of these papers should choose “Applications” as the primary topic.

Submitting a paper to ACML 2012 means that if the paper is accepted, at least one author will attend the conference to present the paper. All papers must be submitted electronically in PDF format only, before the deadline through the submission system. More information, including detailed author instruction, is available at:

For questions and suggestions on paper submission, please write to:

General Co-Chairs
* Wee Sun Lee (National University of Singapore)
* Zhi-Hua Zhou (Nanjing University)

Program Co-Chairs
* Wray Buntine (NICTA)
* Steven C.H. Hoi (Nanyang Technological University)

Local Arrangement Co-Chairs
* Jing Jiang (Singapore Management University)
* Sintiani Dewi Teddy (Institute for Infocomm Research)
* Ivor Tsang (Nanyang Technological University)

Sponsorship Chair
* David Lo (Singapore Management University)

Finance Chair
* Jianxin Wu (Nanyang Technological University)

Tutorial Co-Chairs
* Hai Leong Chieu (DSO National Laboratories)
* Stanley Kok (Singapore University of Technology and Design)

Workshop Co-Chairs
* David Hardoon (SAS)
* Huan Xu (National University of Singapore)

Publication Chair
* Sinno Jialin Pan (Institute for Infocomm Research)

ACML Steering Committee
* Tom Detterich (Oregon State University, USA)
* Tu Bao Ho (JAIST, Japan)
* Hiroshi Motoda, Chair (Osaka University, Japan)
* Bernhard Pfahringer (Waikato University, New Zealand)
* Masashi Sugiyama (Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan)
* Takashi Washio (Osaka University, Japan)
* Geoff Webb (Monash University, Australia)
* Qiang Yang (Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, Hong Kong)
* Zhi-Hua Zhou, Co-Chair (Nanjin University, China)

Senior Program Committee
* Edward Chang (Google Research Asia)
* Wei Fan (IBM TJ Watson Lab)
* Xaiofei He (Zhejiang University)
* Tu Bao Ho (JAIST, Japan)
* Chun-Nan Hsu (University of Southern California)
* Aapo Hyvarinen (Helsinki Institute for Information Technology)
* Rong Jin (Michigan State University)
* Kristian Kersting (University of Bonn)
* Kee-Eung Kim (KAIST)
* Irwin King (Chinese University of Hong Kong)
* James Kwok (Hong Kong University of Science and Technology)
* Pavel Laskov (University of Tubingen)
* Yuh-Jye Lee (NTUST)
* YoonKyung Lee (Ohio State University)
* Ping Li (Cornell University)
* Hang Li (Microsoft Research Asia)
* Phil Long (Google)
* Klaus-Robert Muller (Technical University Berlin)
* Bernhard Pfahringer (University of Waikato)
* Scott Sanner (Australian National University)
* Shirish Shevade (Indian Institute of Science)
* Masashi Sugiyama (Tokyo Institute of Technology)
* Jieping Ye (Arizona State University)
* Dell Zhang (Birbeck College University of London)
* Min-Ling Zhang (Southeast University)
* Xiaojin Jerry Zhu (University of Wisconsin (Madison)