Workshop: The Statistical Physics of Inference and Control Theory

The Statistical Physics of Inference and Control Theory
Granade, Spain
September 12-16 2012


The topic of the present workshop is stochastic optimal control theory and its relations to machine learning and robotics, statistical mechanics, quantum theory and the theory of large deviations.
For many years, the deterministic control theory has dominated control applications in robotics and autonomous systems, mainly because of computational restrictions. Relatively recently, there have been several approaches to restate the stochastic optimal control computation as an inference problem and to obtain efficient solutions using approximate inference. In these control theories, concepts from classical mechanics and control theory (variational calculus and Hamilton-Jacobi equations) and stochastic processes and large deviations theory (Feynman-Kac formula) are intimately related. This approach provides novel insights for the design of efficient algorithms to efficiently compute optimal stochastic control solutions in robotics.
The Hamilton Jacobi equation also plays a crucial role in the computation of non-equilibrium large deviations. In recent developments, this large deviation theory has provided a rather general framework in which the macrobehavior of non-equilibrium systems can be studied. In addition, there is a connection between these control formulations and Nelsons stochastic mechanics, which aims to provide a particle interpretation of quantum mechanics.
This workshop brings together researchers from control theory, machine learning, physics and mathematics to explore these connections.

The workshop will include longer invited talks, a limited number of shorter contributed talks and plenty of
time for discussions. Contributed talks should be submitted before June 1st, 2012.

* Stochastic optimal control theory
* Stochastic processes
* Non-equilibrium large deviations
* Stochastic quantum theories and quantum control
* Applications in robotics

Confirmed Invited Speakers

Ari Arapostathis (Austin, Texas)
Bill Bialek (Princeton)
Roger Brockett (Harvard)
Jean-Charles Delvenne (Louvain)
Karl Friston (UC London)
Francesco Guerra (Rome)
Ramon van Handel (Princeton)
Jorge Kurchan (ENS Paris)
Claudio Landim ( IMPA)
Seth Lloyd (MIT)
Marc Mezard (Orsay)
Sanjoy Mitter (MIT)
Jun Morimoto (ATR, Japan)
Pablo Parrilo (MIT)
Juan Parrondo (Madrid)
Henrik Sandberg (KTH, Sweden)
Devavrat Shah (MIT)
Nikolai Sinitsyn (Los Alamos)
Evangelos Theodorou (Washington)
Naftali Tishby (Jerusalem)
Emanuel Todorov (Washington)
Organizing Committee

Misha Chertkov (Los Alamos)
Bert Kappen ( Nijmegen)
Frank Redig (Delft)
Riccardo Zecchina (Torino)
Joaquin Torres (Granada)
Joaquin Marro (Granada)