CFP: AISTATS*2012 La Palma, Canary Islands

AISTATS*2012 Call for Papers
Fifteenth International Conference on Artificial Intelligence and Statistics
April 21-23, 2012, La Palma, Canary Islands

AISTATS is an interdisciplinary gathering of researchers at the
intersection of computer science, artificial intelligence, machine
learning, statistics, and related areas. Since its inception in 1985,
the primary goal of AISTATS has been to broaden research in these
fields by promoting the exchange of ideas among them. We encourage the
submission of all papers which are in keeping with this objective at

In the 2012 edition of AISTATS we are particularly encouraging
submissions with a focus on scientific data sets. Examples could
include astronomical data, biological data etc. These submissions have
been assigned the keywords “scientific data analysis”.

The Conference Programme will include invited talks, contributed talks,
and posters. Contributed talks and posters will be selected via a
rigorous double-blind peer-review process. Accepted papers will be
published in the AISTATS Conference Proceedings to be published as a
volume of JMLR Workshop and Conference Proceedings.

This year’s invited talks will be given by Sir David Cox (Oxford),
Gábor Lugosi (Pompeu Fabra) and Rien van de Weygaert (Groningen).

Some time at the conference will be set aside for “breaking news”
posters submitted on the basis of a one-page abstract. These are
reports on ongoing or unpublished projects, projects already published
elsewhere, partially developed ideas, negative results etc, and are
meant as informal forums to encourage discussion. The review process
of these posters will be very light-touch but presentation of these at
the Conference will not lead to publication in the Proceedings.

Solicited topics include, but are not limited to:

* Bayesian models and estimation (graphical models, causality,
Gaussian processes, approximate inference, …)
* Non-Bayesian models and estimation (kernel methods, nonparametric
models, statistical and computational learning theory, manifolds and
embedding, sparsity and compressed sensing, …)
* Classification, regression, density estimation, unsupervised and
semi-supervised learning, clustering, topic models, …
* Structured prediction, relational learning, logic and probability
* Reinforcement learning, planning, control
* Game theory, no-regret learning, multi-agent systems
* Algorithms and architectures for high-performance computation in AI
and statistics
* Software for and applications of AI and statistics

For a more detailed list of keywords, see

Submission Requirements

Electronic submission of papers is required. Papers may be up to 8
double-column pages in length, excluding references; formatting and
submission information will be made available on the conference
website at

Submissions will be considered if they are received by 23:59, October
14th, 2011, UTC. See the conference website for additional important

All accepted papers will be presented at the Conference either as
contributed talks or as posters, and will be published in the AISTATS
Conference Proceedings. Papers for talks and posters will be treated
equally in publication.

Submitted manuscripts should not have been previously published in a
journal or in the proceedings of a conference, and should not be under
consideration for publication at another conference at any point
during the AISTATS review process. It is acceptable to have a
substantially extended version of the submitted paper under
consideration simultaneously for journal publication, so long as the
journal version’s planned publication date is in 2012 or later, the
journal submission does not interfere with AISTATS’s right to publish
the paper, and the situation is clearly described at the time of
AISTATS submission. Please describe the situation in the appropriate
box on the submission page (and do not include author information in
the submission itself, to avoid accidental unblinding).

Programme Chairs:
Mark Girolami, University College London
Neil Lawrence, University of Sheffield

General Chair:
Bernhard Schökopf, Max Planck Institute, Tübingen

Local Arrangements Chair:
Fernando Perez Cruz, University Carlos III, Madrid, Spain

Fundraising Chair:
Suvrit Sra, Max Planck Institute, Tübingen

Publicity Chair:
Kun Zhang, Max Planck Institute, Tübingen

Publications Chair:
Nicolò Fusi, University of Sheffield

Senior Program Committee:
Ryan P. Adams, Harvard University
Edo Airoldi, Harvard University
Yoshua Bengio, Université de Montréal
Matthew Blaschko, University of Oxford
David Blei, Princeton University
Guillaume Bouchard, Xerox Research Centre Europe
Nicolas Chopin, CREST
Koby Crammer, Technion University
Arnaud Doucet, University of Oxford
Nial Friel, University College, Dublin
Matthias Hein, Saarland University
Katherine Heller, MIT
Dirk Husmeier, Biomathematics and Statistics Scotland
Sayan Mukherjee, Duke University
Brendan Murphy, University College, Dublin
Christian Robert, Université de Paris, Dauphine
Dan Roy, University of Cambridge
Ricardo Silva, University College, London
Oliver Stegle, Max Planck Institute, Tübingen
Charles Sutton, University of Edinburgh
Bill Triggs, CNRS
Aki Vehtari, Aalto University
Jean-Phillipe Vert, Mines ParisTech
Hao Helen Zhang, North Carolina State University