Call for Papers: CIP 2012

CIP 2012

May 28 to 30, 2012 Parador de Baiona
(Pontevedra, Spain)


Following the success of the previous editions of the Workshop on
Cognitive Information Processing (CIP), we are pleased to announce the
third one in this series*.
This workshop aims at bringing together researchers from the machine
learning, pattern recognition, statistical signal processing, social
sciences, communications and radar communities in an effort to promote
and encourage cross-fertilization of ideas and tools.

CIP 2012 will take place in Baiona (Spain), at Parador de Baiona
Hotel, which rises as an impressive viewpoint over the ocean ,
surrounded by medieval fortress.

The workshop will feature keynote addresses and technical presentations,
oral and poster, all of which will be included in the workshop proceedings.

Papers are solicited for the following areas in theory and applications:

Machine learning theory
Cognitive principles for machine and ensemble architectures and training
Adaptive and sparsity-aware learning
Deep learning and extreme machines
Cognitive psychological modeling
Machine understanding and human-machine interaction
Cognitive dynamical systems
Cognitive fuzzy methods and techniques
Cognitive decision making and game theory
Collaborative sensing Large-Scale Machine Learning


Cognitive signal processing Distributed and cooperative processing
Cognitive communications: Modulation, networks, dynamic spectrum
management and personalization.
Cognitive radar and sonar: Detection, estimation, tracking and target
Information (data, text, audio, image, video) mining
Social networks
Applications in social sciences, medicine, neuroimage, bioinformatics,
energy and smart grids,
advanced manufacturing, engineering systems, industrial processes,
economy and finance.


Submission deadline: January 15th, 2012
Accept / reject decisions: March 15th, 2012
Final papers due: April 15th, 2012

General Chair: Anibal R. Figueiras-Vidal UCIIIM, Spain
Technical Committee Chair: Miguel A. Lagunas CTTC, Spain
Technical Committee Vice Chairs:
Enric Monte CTTC, Spain
Ana Perez-Neira CTTC, Spain

Local Arrangements: Fernando Perez-Gonzalez. Univ. of Vigo, Spain & UNM, USA
Publicity: Carlos Mosquera. Univ. of Vigo, Spain
Finance: Roberto Lopez-Valcarce. Univ. of Vigo, Spain
Proceedings: Marcos Faudez. UPC, Spain
Webpage: Harold Molina. UCIIIM, Spain

Steering Committee:

Nello Cristianini. Univ. of Bristol, UK

Anibal R. Figueiras-Vidal; UCIIIM, Spain

Georgios Giannakis. Univ. of Minessota, U.S.A.

Fulvio Gini. Univ. of Pisa, Italy

Simon Haykin. Mc. Master Univ, Canada

Quiang Huo. Microsoft China

Shigeru Katagiri. Doshisha University, Japan

Vitor Nascimento. Univ. of S. Paulo, Brazil

Fernando Perez-Gonzalez. Univ. of Vigo, Spain & UNM, USA

Jose C. Principe. Univ. of Florida, USA

Bernhard Scholkopf. Max-Planck-Inst. Intelligent Sys., Germany

Hans-Georg Stork. European Commission, Belgium

Sergios Theodoridis. Univ. of Athens, Greece Theory

* All previous events were sponsored by IEEE, IAPR, EURASIP. CIP 2012
sponsorship applications have been submitted.