ICGI 2010

10th International Colloquium on Grammatical Inference

ICGI 2010

13-16 September, 2010 Valencia (Spain)



ICGI 2010 is the tenth edition of the International Colloquium on Grammatical
Inference series which is a biennial conference being considered the most
successful conference related to Grammatical Inference.

The conference will take place at the city of Valencia which is the third
largest city in Spain. Valencia is a beautiful city in the Mediterranean coast
where centenary traditions live together with modernity. Its climate is
mediterranean with mild winters and hot summers. The city contains a dense
monumental heritage together with the City of Arts and Sciences an avant-garde
and futuristic museum complex.

The conference is colocated with the European Conference on Machine Learning
and Principles and Practice of Knowledge Discovery in Databases (ECML-PKDD
2010) which will take place in Barcelona, from September 20th to 24th, 2010.

This edition is a celebration one due to the 10th anniversary. We are planning
some innovations with respect to previous editions such as a tutorial day,
special talks and an award to the best student paper.


On September 13th, the tutorial day will be held. The following lecturers and
topics are confirmed:

* Graph Grammars: Representations, Algorithms, and Induction
Tim Oates, with Sourav Mukherjee (University of Maryland Baltimore
County, USA)

* Active Learning
Colin de la Higuera (University of Nantes, France)

* Modelling Biological Sequences by Grammatical Inference
Francois Coste (INRIA/IRISA, France)

* Inference of Finite Automata
Damián López, with Pedro García (Universidad Politécnica de Valencia, Spain)


* Molecules, Languages, and Automata
Dr. David B. Searls (University of Pennsylvania, USA)

* Grammatical Inference and Games
Dr. Simon Lucas (University of Essex, UK)


José M. Sempere (Universidad Politécnica de Valencia, Spain)


Pieter Adriaans, (Universiteit van Amsterdam, The Netherlands)
Dana Angluin, (Yale University, USA)
Jean-Marc Champarnaud, (Université de Rouen, France)
Alexander Clark, (Royal Holloway University of London, United Kingdom)
Francois Coste, (INRIA, France)
Francois Denis, (Université de Provence, France)
Henning Fernau, (Universität Trier, Germany)
Pedro García, (Universidad Politécnica de Valencia, Spain)
Colin de la Higuera, (Jean Monnet University in Saint-Etienne, France)
Makoto Kanazawa, (National Institute of Informatics, Japan)
Satoshi Kobayashi, (University of Electro-Communications, Japan)
Laurent Miclet, (ENSSAT-Lannion, France)
Tim Oates, (University of Maryland Baltimore County, USA)
Arlindo Oliveira, (Lisbon Technical University, Portugal)
Jose Oncina, (Universidad de Alicante, Spain)
Georgios Paliouras (Institute of Informatics Telecommunications, Greece)
Yasubumi Sakakibara, (Keio University, Japan)
Etsuji Tomita, (University of Electro-Communications, Japan)
Menno van Zaanen, (Tilburg University, The Netherlands)
Ryo Yoshinaka, (Hokkaido University, Japan)
Sheng Yu, (The University of Western Ontario, Canada)
Thomas Zeugmann, (Hokkaido University, Japan)


Marcelino Campos, (Universidad Politécnica de Valencia, Spain)
Antonio Cano, (Universidad Politécnica de Valencia, Spain)
Damián López, (Universidad Politécnica de Valencia, Spain)
Alfonso Muñoz-Pomer, (Universidad Politécnica de Valencia, Spain)
Piedachu Peris, (Universidad Politécnica de Valencia, Spain)
Manuel Vázquez de Parga, (Universidad Politécnica de Valencia, Spain)