CIARP 2010 – Sao Paulo, Brazil (08-11 November)

15th Iberoamerican Congress on Pattern Recognition – CIARP’2010

November 08-11, 2010, São Paulo, Brazil

Contact: ciarp2010(at)

CIARP’2010 will be held in São Paulo, Brazil, from November 8th to
11th, 2010. This conference is organized by the several scientific
associations, including: Cuban Association for Pattern Recognition
(acrp), Advanced Technologies Applications Center (CENATAV),
International Association for Pattern Recognition (IAPR), Mexican
Association for Computer Vision, Neural Computing and Robotics
(MACVNR), Portuguese Association for Pattern Recognition (APRP),
Spanish Association for Pattern Recognition and Image Analysis
(AERFAI), Special Interest Group on Pattern Recognition of the
Brazilian Computer Society (SIGPR-SBC), and Chilean Association for
Pattern Recognition (ChAPR).

This conference will be a forum for the exchange of scientific results
and experiences, as well as the sharing of new knowledge, and the
increasing of the co-operation between research groups in pattern
recognition and related areas.

The CIARP-IAPR Award to the best paper:

We are pleased to announce that an award, consisting of a cash prize
and a certificate, will be given to the author(s) of the Best Paper
registered and presented at CIARP 2010. The aim of this award is to
acknowledge and encourage excellence and originality of new models,
methods and techniques with an outstanding theoretical contribution
and practical application to the field of pattern recognition and/or
data mining. The selection of the winner will be based on the wish of
the author to be considered to the prize, the evaluation and
recommendations from members of the Program Committee and the
evaluation of the CIARP-IAPR Award Committee. This committee,
carefully chosen to avoid conflicts of interest, will evaluate each
nominated paper in a second review process, which will include the
quality of the oral and/or poster presentation.


Topics include, but are not limited to:

Applications of Pattern Recognition
Artificial Intelligence Techniques in Pattern Recognition
Computer Vision
Data Mining
Databases, Knowledge Bases and Linguistic Tools for Pattern Recognition
Discrete Geometry
Document Processing and Recognition
Fuzzy and Hybrid Techniques in Pattern Recognition
Image Processing and Analysis
Kernel Machines
Logical Combinatorial Pattern Recognition
Mathematical Morphology
Mathematical Theory of Pattern Recognition
Medical Imaging
Natural Language Processing and Recognition
Neural Networks for Pattern Recognition
Parallel and Distributed Pattern Recognition
Pattern Recognition Principles
Shape and Texture Analysis
Signal Processing and Analysis
Special Hardware Architectures
Statistical Pattern Recognition
Syntactical and Structural Pattern Recognition
Video analysis
Voice and Speech Recognition


Prospective authors are invited to contribute to the conference by
electronically submitting a full paper in English of no more than 8
pages including illustrations, results and references. The accepted
papers must be presented at the conference in English. All submissions
will be peer reviewed for originality, technical content and relevance
to the theme of this conference by members of the Program
Committee. The final acceptance will be based upon double blind peer
review of the full-length paper.
The accepted papers will be included in the proceedings of the
CIARP’2010, which will be published by Springer in the Lecture Notes
in Computer Science – LNCS.

The papers should be submitted electronically through the submission
option in the CIARP 2010 webpage (

The papers should be prepared following the instructions from Springer
LNCS series. (see,,5-164-2-72376-0,00.html)

Submission implies the willingness of at least one of the authors to
register and to present the communication at the conference, if it is


Submission deadline: June 7th 2010
Notification of acceptance: July 10th 2010
Camera ready: August 1st 2010
Conference: November 08-11, 2010


* General Co-Chairs:

Isabelle Bloch
—– Telecom ParisTech – CNRS LTCI – Paris, France

Roberto M. Cesar-Jr.
—– University of São Paulo – USP – São Paulo, Brazil

* Organizing Committee

Carlos Hitoshi Morimoto, USP – Brazil
David Correa Martins Jr., UFABC – Brazil
João Eduardo Ferreira, USP – Brazil
Roberto Hirata Jr., USP – Brazil
Ronaldo Hashimoto, USP – Brazil
Yossi Zana , UFABC – Brazil

* Auxiliary Committee

Ana Beatriz V. Graciano, USP – Brazil
Charles Iury, USP – Brazil
Evaldo Oliveira, USP – Brazil
Fabrício Martins Lopes, USP – Brazil
Giseli Ramos, USP – Brazil
Jesus Mena-Chalco, USP – Brazil
Jorge J. G. Leandro, USP – Brazil
Marcelo Hashimoto, USP – Brazil
Thiago T. Santos, USP – Brazil

* Steering Committee.

Alberto Sanfeliu, AERFAI Espana
Alvaro Pardo, APRU Uruguay
Cesar Beltran-Castanon, PAPR Peru
Eduardo Bayro-Corrochano, MACVNR Mexico
Hector Allende, ACHIRP, Chile
Helder Araujo, APRP Portugal
Hemerson Pistori, SIGPR-SBC Brazil
Jose Ruiz-Shulkloper, ACRP Cuba

* Program Committee