Call for short papers and abstracts, PRIB 2009

4th IAPR International Conference in
Pattern Recognition for Bioinformatics (PRIB 2009)
City Hall, Sheffield, United Kingdom
7 – 9 September 2009


Pierre Baldi (University of California, Irvine)
Alvis Brazma (European Bioinformatics Institute, Cambridge)
Gunnar Raetsch (Max Planck Institute, Germany)
Michael Unser (Ecole Polytechnique Federale, Lausanne)


The International Association of Pattern Recognition (IAPR) sponsored conference aims to bring together top researchers, practitioners and students from around the world to discuss the applications of pattern recognition methods in the field of bioinformatics to solve problems in the life sciences. We are now inviting submissions of short papers (up to 6 pages in LNCS formats)
and poster abstracts (up to 1 page) in all the areas of relevance to the conference. These include:

Bio-sequence analysis
Gene and protein expression analysis
Protein structure and interaction prediction
Motifs and signal detection
Metabolic modelling and analysis
Systems and synthetic biology
Pathway and network analysis
Immuno- and chemo-informatics
Evolution and phylogeny
Biological databases, integration and visualisation

Pattern recognition techniques of interest include, but not limited to:
Static, syntactic and structural pattern recognition
Data mining, Data based modelling
Neural networks, Fuzzy systems
Evolutionary computation and swarm intelligence
Hidden Markov models, Graphical models


Short paper/abstract Submission 24 July 2009
Author Notification 30 July 2009
Early Bird Registration 15 July 2009

NB: Authors of short papers and abstracts will be allowed to register at the early bird rate until 31 July 2009.


Accepted papers will be published in the PRIB 2009 supplementary proceedings. Authors of both short papers and abstracts will be expected to present a poster at the conference


General Chairs: Visakan Kadirkamanathan (UK), Guido Sanguinetti (UK)
General Co-Chairs: Raj Acharya (USA), Madhu Chetty (Australia)
Programme Chairs: Mahesan Niranjan (UK), Mark Girolami (UK), Jagath Rajapakse (Singapore)
Special Sessions Chair: Cesare Furlanello (Italy)
Tutorials Chair: Florence deAlche-buc (France)
Publicity Chair: Elena Marchiori (Netherlands)
Publications Chair: Josselin Noirel (UK)
Local Organisation Chair: Daniel Coca (UK)
Finance Chair: Andrew Zammit Mangion (UK)
Webmaster: Maurizio Filippone (UK)


For additional information, contact:

PRIB 2009 Secretariat,
Department of Automatic Control & Systems Engineering,
The University of Sheffield,
Mappin Street,
Sheffield S1 3JD,
United Kingdom

Tel: +44 114 2225618
Fax: +44 114 2225661
prib2009 (at)