The focus of ELISE is excellence in research into the foundations and practical implications of artificial intelligence.

The goal of ELISE is to make Europe competitive by setting up a Powerhouse of AI. ELISE employs the best European research in machine learning to create a network of artificial intelligence (AI).

The network is set up to be attractive to students and experienced researchers, to sustain itself at the highest level research in academia, and to spread its knowledge and methods in research, industry and society.

Where ELISE starts from machine learning as current core technology of AI, the network is inviting all ways of reasoning, considering all types of data, applicable for almost all sectors of science and industry, while being aware of data safety and security, and while striving to explainable and trustworthy outcomes.

The main objectives of ELISE are:

  1. Establish a network of excellent researchers and laboratories that act as local anchors across Europe, representing the community, provide experts within society, and coordinate a joint effort across the continent
  2. Build an attractive training network for junior scientists that keeps them in Europe, by offering the highest quality training for Academic Excellence in Machine Learning
  3. Make industry involved with elite academic research so that participating companies’ AI/ML research competences will rival those of large industry laboratories
  4. Establish a sustainable ecosystem of machine learning stakeholders covering the value network to facilitate and accelerate a broad integration of machine learning technologies
  5. Make concrete research-based steps to obtain ethical, robust, and trustworthy AI / ML methods and practices.

Keywords: artificial intelligence, decision support, learning, development, adaptation

Scientific partners include 23 institutions from 10 EU countries:

1 – Aalto University (Aalto), FI
2 – University of Tübingen (EKUT), DE
3 – University of Amsterdam (UvA), NL
4 – Czech Technical University (CTU), CZ
5 – Technical University of Denmark (DTU), DK
6 – Johannes Kepler Universität (JKU), AT
7 – University of Cambridge (UC), UK
8 – Consorzio Interuniversitario Nazionale Per L’informatica (CINI), IT
9 – Universitat de València (UVEG), ES
10 – Max Planck Society (MPG), DE
11 – Radboud University Nijmegen (RU), NL
12 – ETH Zürich (ETH), CH
13 – Oxford University (UOXF), UK
14 – University College London (UCL), UK
15 – Knowledge 4 all Foundation (K4A), UK
16 – Saidot OY (saidot), FI
17 – Oticon S/A (Oticon), DK
18 – FundingBox Accelerator (FBA), PL
19 – Siemens AG (Siemens), DE
20 – Zalando SE (Zalando), DE
21 – Fraunhofer (FRA), DE
22 – Spinverse (SPV), FI
23 – EnliteAi (Enlite), AT