With the current explosion and quick expansion of music in digital formats,  research on machine learning and music is gaining increasing popularity. As complexity of the problems investigated by researchers on this area increases, there is a need to develop new algorithms and methods to solve these problems. Machine learning has proved to provide efficient solutions to many music-related problems both of academic and commercial interest.

MML 2008 intends to continue a series of events related to artificial intelligence/machine learning and music that have been held in the past. The presence of such events and the increasing number of contributions they receive indicates that the application of related techniques to the development of music processing systems is an active, exciting and significant area of research which has become an established field of research. The goal of the workshop is to bring together researchers who are using machine learning in musical applications, providing the opportunity to promote, present and discuss ongoing work in the area. MML 2007 is planned to last one full day, and will feature paper presentations, panel discussions and open discussions. Accepted contributions will be available from the workshop web page as soon as possible in order to encourage active discussion during the workshop.

Organizing Committee

  • Rafael Ramirez
  • Universitat Pompeu Fabra, Barcelona, Spain
  • Christina Anagnostopoulou, University of Athens, Athens, Greece
  • Darrell Conklin, City University, London, UK
  • José Manuel Iñesta, Alicante University, Spain
  • Xavier Serra,Universitat Pompeu Fabra, Barcelona, Spain

 Programme Committee

  • Christina Anagnostopoulou (University of Athens, Greece)
  • Darrell Conklin (City University, UK)
  • Judy Franklin (Smith Collage, USA)
  • Fabien Gouyon (INESC Porto, Portugal)
  • Maarten Grachten (Johannes Kepler University, Austria)
  • Perfecto Herrera (Universitat Pompeu Fabra, Spain)
  • Potamitis Ilyas (Technological Educational Institute of Crete, Greece)
  • José Manuel Iñesta  (Alicante University, Spain)
  • Søren Madsen (Austrian Research Inst. for Artificial Intelligence, Austria)
  • Pedro Ponce de León  (Alicante University, Spain)
  • Aggelos Pikrakis  (University of Piraeus, Greece)
  • Hendrik Purwins (Universitat Pompeu Fabra, Spain)
  • Rafael Ramirez (Universitat Pompeu Fabra, Spain)